Equestrian Connection Advertising Create an account Place an ad now

O'Connor to Receive USA Equestrian Sportsmanship Award

Source :  USA Equestrian, Inc.

David J. O'Connor of The Plains, VA, has been named as the recipient of the 2002 USA Equestrian Sportsmanship Award. The Walter B. Devereux Trophy will be presented to him at the Pegasus Dinner, January 17, at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort in Lexington, KY, as part of the USA Equestrian Annual Meeting.

The USA Equestrian Executive Committee and USA Equestrian Affiliated National Association Presidents and Executive Directors on the USA Equestrian Board, submit nominations for the recipient of the Devereux Award. The nominees are returned to the Executive Committee and voted on by secret ballot.

The USA Equestrian Sportsmanship Award is named for Walter B. Devereux II, who served the AHSA for many years as an officer and director during the 1960's and 1970's. O'Connor will join other distinguished horsemen and horsewomen who have been recipients of the award, including Ellin Dixon Miller, John Fritz, Judith Werner, Diana Firestone, Victor Hugo-Vidal and William Munford.

About David O'Connor

2000 Sydney Olympics - Individual Gold Medal in Eventing - Custom Made

2000 Sydney Olympics - Team Bronze

2000 Equestrian of the Year

2002 Equestrian of Honor, receiving the William Steinkraus trophy

Chair of USA Equestrian Athlete Nominating Committee

Member of the following USA Equestrian committees:

o Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Athlete Testing

o Ad Hoc Compensation & Human Resources Committee

o Ad Hoc Int'l High Performance Advisory Committee

o Ad Hoc NGB Advisory Committee

o Ad Hoc Safety Committee

o Athletes' Advisory Committee

o Board of Directors

o Budget and Finance Committee

o Eventing Committee

o Executive Committee

o FEI Competitions Committee

o Hearing Committee

o Marketing and Development Committee

o Paso Fino Committee

o Planning Committee

o Saddle Seat Equitation Committee

o Western Council

Featured Ads
Join our Mailing List!
EC Tweets!

Follow us on
follow us on Facebook!   Follow EC on Twitter!