Equestrian Connection Advertising Create an account Place an ad now

British Eventing 2002 Winners

Source :  British Eventing

At the British Eventing Golden Frolics Ball at the Birmingham Metropole Hotel, Birmingham (23 November), the following were recognised for their achievements during the season:

TONY COLLINGS MEMORIAL TROPHY: To the British rider gaining the highest number of points on any horse or horses during the season.
Awarded to: WILLIAM FOX-PITT - who amassed 1401 points on 20 horses including George & Jane Apter and Studio TV Hire’s Stunning, The Hon Mary Guinness’s Tamarillo and Carol Hudson’s Highland Lad in just 143 competitive outings – finishing in the top ten on no less than 69 occasions.

CALCUTTA LIGHT HORSE TROPHY: To the owner of the British horse gaining the highest number of points.
Awarded to JEREMY AND SUSAN LAWTON & SHEARWATER INSURANCE, owners of Shear H20, ridden by Leslie Law with 303 points. Third place at Badminton CCI****, 6th at Thirlestane Castle CIC*** was followed by Team Bronze at the World Equestrian Games in Jerez de la Frontera, Spain.

WIDE AWAKE TROPHY: To the Breeder of the British bred, owned and ridden horse gaining the highest number of points.
Awarded to: ROGER & JOANNA DAY – Breeder’s of Primmore’s Pride. Ridden by European Champion Pippa Funnell, Primmores Pride won a total of 239 points during the season. Sired by Mayhill and out of Primmore’s Hill, this nine-year-old bay Gelding made his four-star debut this year, finishing 6th at Burghley.

MARTIN WHITELEY TROPHY: To the British rider gaining the most points on one horse who has never been entitled to wear a Union Jack Badge and who has not previously won this Trophy.
Awarded to JAMES ROBINSON who amassed 148 points on Mrs Joy Robinson’s Camanche. This combination had a successful season finishing 9th at Chatsworth CIC***, 21st at Bramaham CCI*** and finally 12th at Burghley CCI**** in the autumn.

EDY GOLDMAN TROPHY: To the British Rider gaining the most points who is under 21 in the current year.
Awarded to: MATTHEW WRIGHT (20) – who amassed 268 points during the season with ten horses, including his own Park Pilot and Bryce Canyon. Matthew was this years HTSG Scholar after an excellent season, which included finishing 30th on his first attempt of Burghley CCI**** and a member of this years Silver medal winning Young Rider Team at the European Championships.

SIR JOHN BURDER TROPHY: To the highest placed British competitor in the 2002 Young Rider European Championships.
Awarded to: ZARA PHILLIPS (21) - who rode her own Toytown into Individual silver medal position in Wiendorf, Austria.

HUBERT ALLFREY TROPHY: To the highest placed British competitor in the 2002 Junior European Championships.
Awarded to: HAYLEY ROSE (18) - who rode her own Kilmallock Dandy into 6th place in Waregem, Belgium.

JANE ROOK TROPHY: To the highest placed British competitor in the 2002 Pony European Championships.
Awarded to: ANGUS SMALES (15) – riding his own Cornsay Sam into 11th in Hagen, Germany

The HARTPURY COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP 2002, awarded to the Young Rider who most impresses the selectors and sponsor, was awarded to Cressida Clague Reading.

Featured Ads
Join our Mailing List!
EC Tweets!

Follow us on
follow us on Facebook!   Follow EC on Twitter!